Earn the distinction of adding Certified Professional Horticulturist to your qualifications by preparing for and passing West Virginia Nursery & Landscaping Association’s CPH exam. A CPH designation indicates that the holder is a trained horticulture professional with demonstrable knowledge of the industry. He or she is qualified to offer sound scientific horticultural advice on a variety of industry-related subjects.

The next exam will be given on February 22, 2024 in Charleston. WVNLA members may order a CPH manual for $60. The cost for non-WVNLA members is $100. ORDER THE MANUAL HERE.

This informative resource is an excellent study tool. Cost to take the exam is $25. REGISTER TO TAKE THE EXAM.

An online version of the CPH manual is also for WVNLA members. Members may access this version by emailing  to receive an access code.

Topics covered include plant nomenclature, trees & shrubs, lawn establishment and maintenance, interior and bedding plants, fertilizers, composting, insect, weed and disease control as well as landscape contracting and management, and regulations. 

In addition to achieving a passing score on the exam, applicants must meet education and experience requirements as stipulated at the bottom of the CPH Application.

If you prefer to fill out a paper application to apply and register for the exam, print and fill out the CPH Application and mail to the address noted on it.

Questions: Contact Us or call 304-553-1234.  

Continuing Education Credits

After passing the exam and receiving certification, participants must accrue 30 Continuing Education Credits (CEC) in 3 years. Examples of eligible credits are:

  • WVNLA Winter Symposium attendance, 8 credits
  • WVNLA Pesticide recertification training, 8 credits
  • Full-day industry-related course or seminar, 8 credits
  • WVNLA Summer Tour, 4 credits
  • Write an article for WVNLA News, 3 credits
  • WVNLA board member or committee member, 4 credits/year
  • WVNLA officer, 5 credits/year
  • Passing the WVNLA CPH exam, 10 credits
  • MANTS  or other industry trade show, 5 credits
  • Lectures, in-service training, webinars, 1 credit per hour

Events not sponsored by WVNLA must be approved for CEU credit. Submit events for pre-approval to with subject line CEU PRE-APPROVAL to ensure prompt response.





Certified Professional Horticulturists
Devin CarpenterJosh EvansSarah Riggleman
Dillon Yrizarry
Andrea Landis
Allan BelcherDwaine JonesRobert JosephDaniel LippsLisa McDavidHannah McDonaldBill McLaughlinFarris MalloMichael MortonJulius SuterJoshua Webster
Jesse BeaversMichael BrownDakota GillD. Lee GlaspellEmily HarrisDerreck HatfieldArgie JeffersMichael JohnsTimothy JohnsShawn LesterLaDares LillyEarl MooreEric NelsonJohn WatsonRobert WiltseMark Yost
Zach CredeHolly FandeySteven HawkinsGregory Howell
John DoolittleAaron Stull
Eamon BarkerMatthew WareJason Young
Ruffner Woody
Michael BartholomewMichael DickDee Fournier
Dean Myles
Michael BomblyMichael OsborneDonna Rumbaugh
Christopher Hartsock
Matthew Davis
Todd B. AndersonJanie K. CarpenterBill LicliterSeth Pratt
David Hill
Lorie BowenJason Lipot
Bettie E. Dempsey
Larry GouerA. Janie HatfieldG. Lynn JenningsJason LingenfelterDeborah MeadowsLarry L. OhrnCarrie ParkerSteve RitterAubry Wilson
Margaret R. GroseAndrew HillingRudy HorstChuck KinsleyChad MankoCarol McCarthyAlex PersoniusEddie R. Thompson
Michael S. BookJoyce McKenneyBrenda RunionsKelly RussellBetsey SorrellRoger Wood
 Torula ChanlettChris ChanlettJohn Shane HolsteinEdward S. MasonEric Michael
Brian BeckettPatrick BiaforeJohn D. ChidesterRick E. CutlipRichard CutlipTracy CutlipElaine FlaxerAaron HelmickBenjamin A. MarkellDonna MylesDaniel J. NobleRayburn PerryMark SpringerChris TathamBradley A. TeetsBarbara Wilcox